The One When I Think About Experimenting, Transdisciplinary and The Multiverse…

Experimenting

This week I started on my second year constellation study group. I initially was extremely by having to sit for five hours straight. I would love to say that time flew by, but it didn’t it was heavy hitting (this could improve in the next few sessions when I get more of a grasp of the subject that we are covering).

In the first part of the lecture we where looking at the different definitions of experimenting  that are laid out in the introduction to “Black Mountain College Between Chance and Design.” These definitions where put forward in three different ways by three different people: Joesf Albers, John Cage and R. Buckminster Fuller. Albers view on experimenting was a more controlled way of experimenting, having no room for accidents, and following patterns. Cage’s definition on the other hand was the total opposite with a view focusing on innovation and throwing away the notion of pattern. Fuller had more of a scientific approach to experimenting it was about collecting data and changing variables.

We talked about how we fit in with the definitions of experimentation in our own practice while using an example of how we would experiment. I used an example of designing an editorial spread and dissected how I would separate each element of the the design and then bring it together. I identified that in graphics that I always know what my final outcome will be so I go into experimenting in a very directed way that there are already constantes on my experimenting from the get go. This linked into what Fuller believed experimenting to be as I tend to bring all the elements together and then see what works and what doesn’t and changing one thing at a time to get to the end goal.

Introduction into Transdisciplinary

In the lecture I got totally lost and overwhelmed in the meaning of what transdisciplinary means but with a few days between the lecture and rereading my notes I manage to understand a find layer of basic understanding on the subject. I understand than “trans” means across, between or beyond. This means that transdisciplinary is about going across different disciplines and seeing (and working together) and that going to benefit us all.

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-23-33-20

Leave a Reply

