Branding- Creating a Brand

In this project we were to create our own company that another class mates will be designing the branding for. I was given the task of creating the branding for a security company. I found this quite difficult to think of ideas as it’s quite a dry company area and looking at existing companies they are all extremely similar in style and field. So this lead me to do a mind map just to get some of the things that I think of towards security. This also included exciting companies and my initial ideals for the brand.

image
Mind map on security

I found doing this gave me a few ideas and helped me come to my idea for the business. I found a loop in the market that was a security company that caters directly in trying to combat the problem of sexual harassment in bars and night club.  This is a very common problem as statistics show that nearly 1 in  3 young women and 1 in 10 men experience unwanted sexual attention on a night out. I wanted to create a brand that prevented this. The brand values that the company would want to show are:-

  • Safety
  • Dedicated
  • Compassionate
  • Reliable
  • Equal
  • Responsible

I then had the task of finding a suitable name for the company. I found it difficult to think of one, but I then I tried with the techniques that where discussed in the lecture on naming. I found that this helped as I wasn’t just sat trying to get something from nothing. I started by looking for words that means safe in different languages but I quickly dismissed this idea as I wasn’t getting anything that was I felt was right for the target audience and were quite dull. I was then quite attracted to the idea of being named after a Greek god, I really liked Artemis (goddess of light and protector of the vulnerable) but after some further research I found that there was already a security company, so I decided to go with NYX the goddess of the night.

image

Target Market

I found coming up with the target market quite easy as the company concept was quite self explanatory.

 Our main clients are the venues that cater to a young adult clientele. We want to make our mark known so that a client’s customer will recognise what we are about and that when they see a club with this logo they can feel safe from any unwanted groping and touching. This will bring business to the venue as their customers will spend money as they will not have the need to move on from feeling uncomfortable as they are reassured by the knowledge that someone is looking out for them.

Persona

I found creating the persona quite a challenge as I was not sure how all of the sections would be answerable or relevant. I invented a character from Liverpool called Gary Wills and would be the type of client that would use the services of the company.

screen-shot-2016-10-27-at-20-26-39

Moodboard

I found the moodboard the easiest part of creating the company. I had a clear idea of the style that I wanted the brand to portray. All of the logos for existing companies where quite bland and where all of the same feel. I wanted the look of the branding to be modern and edgy and to be targeted towards more of a nightclub design feel.nxy

Leave a Reply

